Update

It’s been a while since I last posted, for a number of reasons: though Cornwall is a beautiful part of the country, my department was at the wrong end of an 8-hour train journey, which rather cut down on my ability to keep up with the blog. Somehow posting on other people’s blogs seems much easer, and like many other folks, much of my interaction moved to twitter… Since my last post, my situation’s changed again: my other half got a job (and a promotion!) on the other side of the country, which meant leaving Cornwall and moving to Cambridge; the hassles of moving, as well as commuting to Manchester, and indeed the rest of the PhD, have rather taken their toll. The last stretch of the PhD was also made slightly more stressful for a good reason – we’re expecting twins in the new year, but my other half has been laid up with hyperemesis gravidarum; as those of you with a classical education will be able to deduce, this is extreme pregnancy sickness, and has been a bit of a drag. However, I am now officially a gentleman of leisure – I submitted the thesis about a fortnight ago, and should have my viva in mid-November. As a result, I hope to now have the time to post a bit about some of the thesis research, as well as bits I found interesting but that had to be chopped. I know I owe Erik Lund a post on interwar Royal Navy steam plant procurement, and Alex recently suggested I should write something on Power Jets as tech start-up.

In the mean time, I’ve been applying for a variety of academic and non-academic jobs, but haven’t had much joy so far; so if anyone has any London- or Cambridge-based tips that might suit a lapsed engineer and almost-PhD in the History of Tech, I’m all ears…

2 Responses to “Update”

  1. Chris Williams Says:

    Nice to have you back, if perhaps only briefly. If you’re taking requests, can I put one in something about the engineering context of the decision to ship that Nene to the USSR?

  2. Jakob Says:

    I’ll see what I can do; though for a real expert I’d recommend Engel’s ‘Cold War at 30,000 Feet’ – most of my understanding of that story has come from there anyway…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

